my hickman line



hickman, originally uploaded by Len Taing.

this is my hickman line. it runs up my neck (underneath my skin) and directly into my superior vena cava. this allows my nurses to withdraw blood from me at will. it also is how i get chemo and blood transfusions into my system. if they tried to transfuse chemo through a regular vein, say in my arm, it would eat the vein and the surrounding tissue away in minutes. when i sleep, i constantly have to adjust it because it ends up under my armpits (in fact, i just woke up and had to blog about that very fact). now i know how women with big breasts feel.

~ by lentaing on July 31, 2008.

One Response to “my hickman line”

  1. I go away for a little bit and all of a sudden your blog has become raunch central! That pic is a funny little twist to the images you find on myspace or facebook. 🙂

    So will you be losing the hickman immediately following your final round of treatment? It would suck having to keep it another 5 weeks until you’re given a clean bill of health.

Leave a comment